PhD students

Mr Chongpu Zhai (2014-), Electro-mechanical behaviour of granular materials.

Mr Weijing Dai (2015-), Effective thermal conductivity of compacted granular media.

Mr Noor Mohammad (2016-), A thermo-hydro-mechanical model of healing in soils.

Mr Zhang (Simon) Shi (2016-), The micromechanics of partially saturated soils.

Mr Mojtaba Nazemi (2016-), The mechanics of degradation and healing in cemented granular materials.

Master (by research) students

Ms Shuoqi Li (MPhil, 2015-), Water patch formation in partially saturated granular materials.

Mr Yanyao Bao (MPhil, 2016-), Numerical modelling of injectivity and storage capacity of carbon storage in saline aquifers.

Mr Nanwangzi (Linkin) Wu (MPhil, 2016-), Numerical modelling of geothermal foundations.


Group photo at School of Civil Engineering, The University of Sydney, 31/08/2016. From left: (1st row) Yanyao Bao, Weijing Dai, Yi Zhang, Yixiang Gan, Noor Mohammad; (2nd row) Chongpu Zhai, Mojtaba Nazemi, Simon Shi, Sharon Li, Linkin Wu.


Ms Yi Zhang (MPhil, 2014-2016), Static and dynamic behaviour of inter-granular liquid bridges: hysteresis of contact angle and capillary forces.


Prof. Changqing Chen, Tsinghua University, China.

Prof. Ratna Kumar Annabattula, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) – Madras, India.

Prof. Marc Kamlah, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany.

Dr. Giang D Nguyen, University of Adelaide, Australia.

Dr. Dorian Hanaor, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany.

Dr. Emmanuel Flores-Johnson, CONACYT – Unidad de Materiales, Centro de Investigación Científica de Yucatán, México.


Mr Simone Pupeschi (Oct-Dec 2015 and Jan-Apr 2017, PhD student, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Mrs Marigrazia Mascardiniare (Oct-Dec 2015 and Jan-Apr 2017, PhD student, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Mr Mingchao Liu (Jan-Jul 2015 and Jun-Dec 2017, PhD student, Tsinghua University)

Mr Oleg Birkholz (Oct-Dec 2016, PhD student, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Ms Julia Ott (May-Jul 2013, PhD student, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)